Will my jobs keep running?
Galaxy is a fantastic system, but some users find themselves wondering:
Will my jobs keep running once I’ve closed the tab? Do I need to keep my browser open?
No, you don’t! You can safely:
- Start jobs
- Shut down your computer
and your jobs will keep running in the background! Whenever you next visit Galaxy, you can check if your jobs are still running or completed.
However, this is not true for uploading data from your computer. You must wait for uploading a dataset from your computer to finish. (Uploading via URL is not affected by this, if you’re uploading from URL you can close your computer.)